Skip to content

My Alter Ego is a Surfer Chick

March 27, 2011

Let me introduce my alter ego: Her name is Tabitha (I know, it’s weird..) She is a vegan, yogi, entrepreneur supermom/wife whose business also happens to be successful, eco-friendly and gives back to the community. And when she’s not saving the world in her own, meaningful and fulfilling way, she goes surfing.

Lazy B

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hey, I can dream.

I am guessing that most/all of us would like to become the superhero versions of ourselves, but even if we could articulate these visions and put them on paper (and too often we do not even bother with that), our end goals can seem unattainable or overwhelming.

KAIZEN, people, it’s all about KAIZEN!

Kaizen is my new word, and it is a gooooood word. It’s a Japanese word that means continuous improvement, usually through incremental changes. In other words, keep taking those baby steps.

I know I can’t become Super-T overnight, but I am trying every day to move closer to my ideal. (I really love her..) Actually scratch that, I’m not just trying, I am actually doing. In the immortal words of Yoda (yes, that one, is there any other?):

“Do, or do not. There is no try”.

The Kaizen way means you can make really small changes, even tiny, almost imperceptible ones,  as long as they are contributing to your end goal. And then! You can look back on each little gesture and celebrate that bit of progress, which encourages you to take another step. It’s a powerful thing.

The best ideas are always the simple ones.

So since I’ve decided to stop freaking out about attaining the big goal and focus on baby steps, I feel so much more confident and optimistic about the future. I am also taking concrete steps, instead of just thinking about it.

(The background of how I got here may not be remotely interesting to you, but if you care to read a rather unexciting and quite cheesy post on my identity crisis, you can do so here. If ever there was a chance to turn a liability into an asset, this blog is it).

My interests are many, and I tend to want to dive in and learn all about things that may not be obviously related. So since I am going through this process, I figure I might as well share my findings along the way.

Topics you may find here; Going green, organic/health resources in Beirut, responsible entrepreneurship, work/life balance, yoga, parenting and maybe a recipe or two. Plus every now and then I may shamelessly plug people I know that I think are doing awesome things, in Lebanon and elsewhere.

So, signing out for now. Ideally, this blog will be a place for some good conversations about some or all of the above. So if you think this might be a good (or bad) idea, or you have any comments, (Please!)- Don’t hold back 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 1:18 pm

    The baby step path to becoming a “Super Hero” is such a great idea! Very succinctly expressed and fun to read. You write well and I think understand quite a bit about the steady, step by step process of growth as a person and/or artist. Great going on starting your blog! I linked to you site from Art of Action. Thanks!

    • March 29, 2011 5:40 pm

      Thank you Debbie, for my first ever comment! I have to tell you I loved the birthday post on your blog, you have such a great spirit! And our birthdays are 5 days apart 🙂 I’m grateful that the Art of Action has connected us.

  2. Maria permalink
    March 29, 2011 11:11 am

    Well-expressed, beautifully written, and very relevant for us moms who are working to ‘have it all/ do it all’ while keeping a sense of our own values and ‘personal missions’ in place… truly enjoyed it (and your first), keep them coming!!

    • March 29, 2011 5:43 pm

      Thank you Maria,
      It’s so good to hear that people, somewhere, anywhere, can relate!

  3. Nadine Khoukaz permalink
    March 30, 2011 6:37 am

    Hana! All I can say is I look forward to hearing more!
    These are the full stories to the headlines you give us during our monthly dinners!
    You make us want to hear more , now we can read more!!

  4. April 8, 2011 9:46 pm

    What a great post! I love your alter ego… she is similar to mine, maybe they are friends!

Trackbacks

  1. Why I love Mondays « Multanimous

Leave a Reply

