Skip to content

Hello Yoga, Remember Me?

March 29, 2011
tags:

Westminster Abbey I first discovered yoga when I was 16, at British boarding school in the 80s. Really! For a school that was established in the 12th century,  it is remarkably progressive. Incidentally, of all the wonderful places I studied, the time I spent there was amongst the most enriching and inspiring. So, I discovered yoga in a little hall that was probably a monk’s dormitory at some point in time, maybe that’s why it stuck.

What I love about yoga:

Aside from the obvious stretching, toning, grounding, centering, calming, energizing and other physical benefits….I love the fact that yoga loves me too. She is much more forgiving and kinder to me when I abandon her for weeks, sometimes years. I’ve done dancing and kickboxing, currently do weight-training and in the last couple of years have discovered running. All of these bring out the inner superhero in me in the best way. I imagine I’m Bionic Woman on the treadmill sometimes, I swear I actually do this…..(More on superhero visualizations another day) but ditch them for a few weeks and you’ll be sooooreeeee…. Yoga is not like that, she is always there for you, non-judgmental and smiling. She helps you to listen to your body, really listen. You can’t stretch that far? Don’t, it’s ok. Don’t push it, you will get there.

And that’s why I keep coming back.

One of my favourite yoga teachers of all time, lovely Dani, is always encouraging us to cultivate a home practice. I like this word, because it describes perfectly what developing a home practice is. I recently read a quote by Stephen Covey (of 7 Habits fame), that says:

“The only thing that endures over time is the ‘Law of the Farm.’ You must prepare the ground, plant the seed, cultivate, and water if you expect to reap the harvest”.

So I have decided to finally commit to cultivating my home practice. I have signed up for a programme called 30 Days of Yoga with Marianne Elliott, an amazing teacher and person. Research suggests that 21 days of consistently practicing anything is enough to make it a habit, so if I can keep it up for a whole month, I’ll be rocking. Hopefully.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

** Update: Lessons from week 1.

 

** Update: 30 Days Done: How it went.

Meanwhile, I leave you with this excellent blast from the past.

Chained up prisoner : “How you able to do dat?!”

Steve Austin: “Vitamins”.

LOL 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Maye F Ostowani permalink
    March 29, 2011 1:55 pm

    Hey Hana! Congrats on the blog!! Bravo, good for you!! Love it 🙂 Good luck, big kiss xxx

    • March 29, 2011 5:12 pm

      Thanks Mayoushi, I appreciate that coming from another writer, I expect we’ll be seeing a blog from you too soon!

  2. March 29, 2011 4:36 pm

    Sweet Hana, thanks for mentioning me more than once in your blog, I am touched and honored. I am so blessed with awesome students such as yourself who teach me something new every single day, we are all in this together, more than ever. The blog looks amazing, I will definitely indulge in getting lost through the variety of topics you address. Viva “blogasana”. Keep rolling girl!
    PS: I am thrilled you picked up a home practice, but I do miss you in class.
    Much Love.
    D

    • March 29, 2011 5:24 pm

      I miss you too, but I carry your teaching with me into every practice! I’m starting to shift into a new schedule, so hopefully I will be able to come back soon. Thanks Dani xxx

  3. nada permalink
    April 2, 2011 4:34 am

    Hanaaaa! Love the blog! Mabrook !!Love it masha allah! Best of luck!! hope all is well! xxx

Leave a Reply

